Originally I was admittedly looking forward to Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. however it appears the general consensus agrees with me that the TV Series is underwhelming as the obligatory ratings drop from the series premiere has dropped hard. Originally opening with more than 20 Million Viewers, the show was highly anticipated because of the spin-off connection from The Avengers and the rest of the Marvel Cinematic Universe. The second episode which aired on the series' usual timespot of 8pm on tuesdays suffered a 34% ratings lose from the premiere.
Personally I attribute this to the show's lackluster direction, It generally just does not feel very engaging and I found myself particularly bored throughout it, this is even worse because in my opinion the Pilot episode feels very cliché in the scenes where the team is first rounded up. One element which is at least slightly interesting is the development of the Extremis storyline from Iron Man 3. I hope in the rest of the show's lifespan it continues to use the rich history of Marvel in its story lines and I believe it was a smart move to use a concept which had been featured in a movie previously, it's just a shame that there is not much creative spark to the series. It has so much potential which it squanders on trite storytelling and a lack of real energy to it.
No comments:
Post a Comment